Tuition, Net Price and Aid
| Metric | School value | Context | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accreditation | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges | Institutional accreditor where reported | Verify |
| In-state tuition | $4,980 | National avg: $20,567 | Verify |
| Out-of-state tuition | $8,790 | National avg: $20,567 | Verify |
| Attendance cost | $15,028 | Use with aid and net price | Verify |
| Average net price | $6,564 | State avg: $14,203. National avg: $17,506 | Verify |
| Pell grant rate | 59.78% | Federal need-based grant indicator | Verify |
| Federal loan rate | 0.00% | Share using federal loans | Verify |
What Does Lawson State Community College Cost?
Total cost of attendance vs average net price after grants and aid, based on the local College Scorecard dataset.
Tuition
$8,790
Room and board
$4,760
Books and supplies
$2,300
Other expenses
$3,000
Fees and remainder
$0
Sticker price
$15,028
Average net price
$6,564
Average aid coverage
56%
$8,464 below sticker price on average
What You Pay
Based on available data, the average student at Lawson State Community College pays approximately $6,564 per year after grants and aid. This is below the Alabama average of $14,203 and below the national average of $17,506.
How Affordable Is Lawson State Community College?
Average net price after grants and scholarships, compared to Alabama and national averages.
Lawson State Community College net price
$6,564
Alabama average
$14,203
National average
$17,506
Lawson State Community College Tuition and Net Price Trend
The current imported dataset shows tuition at $8,790 and average net price at $6,564. A multi-year trend chart will appear here after historical College Scorecard release tables are imported.
Current tuition
$8,790
Current net price
$6,564
Current-year comparison is shown now; historical bars will replace this fallback once multi-year College Scorecard releases are imported.
Student Outcomes
Completion Rate (150% Time)
Not available
Completion data is not reported for Lawson State Community College in the federal College Scorecard dataset.
10-Year Earnings
$31,701
Undergraduates
2,720
10-Year Median Earnings - Lawson State Community College vs Peers
Median earnings 10 years after enrollment. Source: College Scorecard federal dataset.
Lawson State Community College graduates earn about 0.7x the national average 10 years after enrollment, based on schools with reported earnings data.
Who Attends Lawson State Community College?
Undergraduates
2,720
Completion rate
Not available
National comparison unavailable; national avg: 52.02%
Pell recipients
59.78%
Above national average; national avg: 42.32%
Federal loan rate
0.00%
Below national average; national avg: 40.83%
Completion vs national average
Pell grant recipients
Federal loan usage
Financial Aid
About 59.78% of Lawson State Community College students receive federal Pell grants, indicating the share of students receiving this need-based aid in the local dataset. 0.00% take federal loans, which helps families understand borrowing patterns alongside net price.
Estimate Your Net Price at Lawson State Community College
Select a family income bracket to see the average net price students in that range paid. Data comes from College Scorecard income-bracket averages when available.
Estimated net price for :
This estimate is based on College Scorecard averages for students in this income range who received federal aid. Actual amounts vary. Use Lawson State Community College's official Net Price Calculator for a personalized figure.
Accreditation
Lawson State Community College lists Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges as its accreditor in the local dataset. Institutional accreditation is an important trust signal and can affect federal financial aid eligibility. Accreditation means an external agency has reviewed academic quality and institutional standards, which helps families verify whether federal aid pathways such as Pell grants and federal loans may apply.
Visit AccreditorCampus and Location
Lawson State Community College is listed at 3060 Wilson Rd SW, Birmingham, AL 35221-1717. Accreditor: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
Compare Schools
Compare Lawson State Community College with nationally comparable peer institutions across acceptance rate, tuition, net price and 10-year earnings. Click any school name to open its full profile.
| School | Accept. rate | Out-of-state tuition | Avg net price | 10-yr earnings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lawson State Community College | Not available | $8,790 | $6,564 | $31,701 |
| Auburn University | 50.47% | $33,944 | $23,897 | $65,337 |
| Columbia Southern University | Not available | $5,808 | $14,975 | $63,534 |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | 74.25% | $24,662 | $19,880 | $61,767 |
| Marion Military Institute | 59.17% | $15,538 | $10,137 | $59,644 |
Similar Schools in Birmingham
This local cluster focuses on nearby Birmingham schools, not national peers. Use it to compare local net price, acceptance rate and enrollment options around Birmingham.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is Lawson State Community College's acceptance rate not listed?
Acceptance rate data is not reported for Lawson State Community College in the federal field used by this dataset. That usually means the value should be verified directly with the school before comparing admissions selectivity.
How much is Lawson State Community College tuition?
Lawson State Community College's out-of-state tuition in the local dataset is $8,790.
What is Lawson State Community College's average net price?
Lawson State Community College's average net price in the local dataset is $6,564.
What is Lawson State Community College's average earnings 10 years after enrollment?
The local dataset reports 10-year median earnings of $31,701 for Lawson State Community College.
Is Lawson State Community College accredited?
Lawson State Community College's accreditor in the local dataset is Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Lawson State Community College?
The local dataset lists 2,720 undergraduate students at Lawson State Community College.
What percentage of Lawson State Community College students receive Pell grants?
The Pell grant rate for Lawson State Community College in the local dataset is 59.78%.
What is the federal loan rate at Lawson State Community College?
The federal loan rate for Lawson State Community College in the local dataset is 0.00%.
Where should I verify Lawson State Community College data?
Use this page for comparison, then verify admissions, tuition, net price and student outcomes directly with Lawson State Community College or the latest official federal education data.